Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Sorry I am new to this stuff, I am more at home on a Pic32 but thought I would give something different a try.

So I installed the latest compiler and this library and the fatsd library, open the example and hit compile.. Thats when I get the below error.

I have googled this and searched all the sites that deal with this library. No luck.

Any help would be outstanding.. please just point me in the right direction.. 😉

Thanks.
    Leroy

c:/users/lbaynum/downloads/arduino-1.5.2-windows/arduino-1.5.2/hardware/tools/avr/bin/../lib/gcc/avr/4.3.2/../../../../avr/lib/avr5\libc.a(malloc.o): In function `malloc’:
    (.text+0x0): multiple definition of `malloc’
    C:\Users\lbaynum\AppData\Local\Temp\build1657941011744485209.tmp/core.a(malloc.c.o):C:\Users\lbaynum\Downloads\arduino-1.5.2-windows\arduino-1.5.2\hardware\arduino\avr\cores\arduino/malloc.c:82: first defined here
    c:/users/lbaynum/downloads/arduino-1.5.2-windows/arduino-1.5.2/hardware/tools/avr/bin/../lib/gcc/avr/4.3.2/../../../../avr/lib/avr5\libc.a(malloc.o): In function `free’:
    (.text+0x154): multiple definition of `free’
    C:\Users\lbaynum\AppData\Local\Temp\build1657941011744485209.tmp/core.a(malloc.c.o):C:\Users\lbaynum\Downloads\arduino-1.5.2-windows\arduino-1.5.2\hardware\arduino\avr\cores\arduino/malloc.c:194: first defined here

Bill

You are using a version of Arduino that is still very much a BETA version. Drop down to the stable version 1.0.3 and see if the error persists.

Seems this is a noted problem with the BETA version already:

http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php?topic=150212.0

Bill

Further history into this in case you are interested:

https://github.com/arduino/Arduino/issues/857

Several things.