Home Forums EasyTransfer Library Support Forum Home control and monitoring

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi my name is Ken. I’m new to Arduino, in fact so new I haven’t gone beyond “Which board is right for you”. I have been doing the best I can with gathering info with blogs and forums looking for the boards for my project. I intend to do build a system with an Arduino in my detached garage approx. 50′ from my central location that will be used to let me know whether doors are open or closed and through some other software/hardware be able to close them remotely. A second Arduino will be in my attic, approx. 30′ above central location to control and monitor solar collector for heating. A third and possible fourth arduino will be in the central location to be used as burglar alarm, pump control for solar project, general lighting and appliance control. I can install all sensors and wiring plus hack my way through everything else needed. My issue is that I’m not clear on how to interconnect these remote locations to all work in concert with each other. I prefer wires and that part is easy for me, vs. any form of wireless. I get that serial is going to be the way, but I can’t find any intel on Max. distances between boards. I am planning on using Processing to make a GUI that I can display a floor plan showing doors n windows states, temps. status of all kinds of appliances and what not. Seams ambitious, I know, but I have been working on parts of this for some time and I’m at the point to tie this all together. I did find a board in development call “Chainduino” that may suite my needs. Not sure when it will hit market. Any thoughts as to how to best achieve my project goals? Thanks in advance for your consideration on this.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hello