Home Forums Sparkfun MP3 Shield Library Support Forum MP3 Shield bugs on an UNO

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi all,

I’m not certain if it’s my code (reproduced below) or the board or the library or what, but I’m having a devil of a time getting this circuit to work. In practice, it’s simple: Motion sensor trips, lights and sound come on. Haunted house stuff. But:

1) the MP3 suddenly stops playing after ~.85 seconds (+/-.03 seconds)

2) THEN I get the error “If you get this error, you likely do not have a sd.begin in the main sketch, See Trouble Shooting Guide!
    http://mpflaga.github.com/Sparkfun-MP3-Player-Shield-Arduino-Library/#Troubleshooting”

3) Originally, when I was building this circuit, the MP3 worked. Then I put my wires into pins 9 and 10, and suddenly it all came crashing down.

I am probably making every possible mistake in the world, and I apologize in advance as I’m just starting to learn this stuff. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for your help!

–Vox

Code Reproduced:

#include <SPI.h>
    #include <SdFat.h>
    #include <SdFatUtil.h>
    #include <SFEMP3Shield.h>

SdFat sd;
    SFEMP3Shield MP3player;

boolean playing = false;
    float totalPlayTime = 10000;
    float playStartTime = 0;
    int modetectPin = 5;
    int modetectVal = 0;
    int spotLightPin = 10;
    int pulseLightPin = 9;

void setup() {
    Serial.begin(9600);
    pinMode(modetectPin, INPUT);
    pinMode(spotLightPin, OUTPUT);
    pinMode(pulseLightPin, OUTPUT);
    sd.begin(SD_SEL, SPI_HALF_SPEED);
    MP3player.begin();
    }

void loop(){

Serial.println(playMillis());

if(motionActive() && !playing){
    playing = true;
    playStartTime = millis();
    }

if(playing){
    MP3player.playTrack(1);
    updateSpotLight(spotLightPin); // first stop light;
    updatePulser(pulseLightPin);
    if(playMillis() > totalPlayTime){
    playStartTime = 0;
    playing = false;
    MP3player.stopTrack();